Rehearsal Week

I’m writing from Eugene, OR across from the McDonald Theater. I was in Burlington all last week for rehearsals and I must say that they were great! We’re tackling some of the most complicated of Mike’s originals. I’ve had to memorize pages of sheet music and it’s some of the most complex stuff I’ve ever played. In the beginning of last week it all seemed overwhelming but now that we’ve played these tunes a bunch it seems almost reasonable. Most of the rehearsals were in the evening so I had the days to practice and learn this stuff on my own.

Monday, Mike brought me to his singing teacher. I’ve always wanted to take a voice lesson and this one did not disappoint. I learned a ton of stuff and got lots of questions answered that have been haunting me for years. Her method of singing is all about being as efficient as possible which is so helpful to me. It allows me to sing clearly without blowing out my voice and allows me to hear my voice in the lower registers even when the band is loud. Very cool.

She came to rehearsal on Wednesday to work with the band as an ensemble as well. Not only did it help each of us individually but it got us all thinking on the same page about our vocals so that our inflections and pronunciations are lined up. What a difference! Plus, by putting the emphasis on the vocals the instruments are quieter and geared toward highlighting the vocals.

All in all it was a great week!

We traveled yesterday flying to Portland last night and meeting the bus which took us to Eugene. We’re all well rested and ready to go!!

4 thoughts on “Rehearsal Week

Leave a Reply

