Back!

Well.

It’s been a while.  I sometimes withdraw around the holidays.  There’s so much to do and it seems like a roller coaster of sorts.  It’s a joyous season and the kids are very excited and all, and at the same time there’s very little daylight and the year is coming to an end.  There’s so much to do, so much to think about.

And then there’s all the family stuff.  Everyone is getting older.  The kids are becoming adults and the adults are becoming… um… older.  🙂

There’s a whole new generation of kids in my family too.  My niece’s daughter, Tralee is 7 years old and is just so much fun to hang out with.

On Thanksgiving Cheryl came and met my family, or most of my family.  After dinner we all sat around singing oldies together.  Even my brother sang!

Right before Christmas Max Creek played its annual Holiday Party and the afternoon part of that is just heartwarming.  Everyone brings their kids and we get them up on stage to sing and Santa is there.

In the end, the holidays for me were about exactly what they were supposed to be about: bringing families together.

So with the new year comes a clean slate and time to do new projects!  I’ve got some things in the works.

Max Creek plays in Rochester this weekend (January 22nd & 23rd) and I’m looking forward to that!  We always play amazing shows in Rochester and I think we have a rehearsal scheduled for Saturday day so there could be some new stuff Saturday night!

BK3 is playing again, with Oteil!  We have some dates in San Francisco and Santa Cruz  in February.

I’ve started a writing project as well.  A couple years ago a woman approached me about doing a book about Max Creek and I was very enthusiastic and offered as much help as she needed, but shortly after she approached me about it she backed out of the project.  Ever since then the concept of a book about the band has been nagging me.  When Rob Fried passed on the world lost not only an amazing musician, but also a set of memories that only he had.  And so the project has taken on more of a priority in me.

The project is still in its conceptual stages but there will be more about that as it becomes more cohesive, but the general idea is to get stories from all those in and associated with the band and put them in a centralized location.  I think there is a deep history here and it seems like it’s compartmentalized into individual memories.  It’d be great to have them all in one place.

There are some more things in the works too but it’s too early to talk about them.

I miss writing the blog!

8 thoughts on “Back!

  1. Great to hear from you again Scott! Wishing we were up in NY this weekend but with the kids activities it just was not in the cards for us. My kids LOVED the Holiday party ~ Garrett insists on Creek cd’s every morning on the way to the bus stop. It is so funny to see him rockin out before school :O) Thanks for putting a smile on both of our faces every morning! Looking forward to hearing more about the projects for the coming year~

  2. I think the book idea is a great one! It’s very strange that a couple a days ago my wife ask me if there were any books on Creek and now I read that you are considering doing one. Very cool. I know it must seem like an overwhelming task to do a book but It would be a wonderful addition to the Max Creek legacy. I heard the Rochester shows were amazing. I’m from Rochester (I go back to the Mason Jar days) but I have lived in Oregon for the last six years and man, do I miss you guys! I’m thankful for Internet Archive where I can still keep up with listening to as many shows as possible. I’m excited about possibly getting down to San Francisco to see BK3 in February. Thanks for doing this blog, I really dig it, especially being on the left coast, I can keep up with the happenings of my favorite band and Guitarist. I am hoping to come back to the east coast this summer or fall to catch a couple of Creek shows. I have Parkinson’s disease, so traveling is difficult but I turn 50 this year and seeing Max Creek would be the BEST birthday present I could give myself. It’s been six LONG years without a Creek show and I could use one (or more) more than ever. Thank you Scott for all of the great music I have enjoyed since 1981. You guys are the BEST! Good luck with your upcoming projects! Hope to see you soon one way or another or should I say on one coast or another. Billy couldn’t have picked a better guitarist/singer for his band! I’m happy for you to be getting the credit you have deserved for so long. Keep up the great work and THANK YOU for all of the great music I have enjoyed all of these years! Listening in Oregon……..
    Peace and Be Well,
    Ceasar

  3. Great to hear from you again,glad to see you had a good holiday season. I know what you mean about the non-stop pace of the holidays. Your right about all the individual memories that really should be gathered together.

    Keep in touch.

  4. Good to see you resuming the blog. Looking forward to it and glad to hear MGB will be touring in March. i posted the dates up on Coventry. Will definitely see you at Rev Hall for that one and hope to make Max Creek at Infinity Hall too.

  5. Wow. That makes me sooooo happy. It’s always been a sort of dream of mine to do a book on Max Creek because it HAS to be done, but unfortunately it’s not something I could feasibly carry out. But this is amazing, I’m so excited to hear about this!!! Max Creek has played such a big role in my life that I can’t describe myself to someone new without bringing up Max Creek. You guys are amazing, thanks for what you do. And come to south Florida please, it really stinks not being able to see you!

Leave a Reply

