Is there anything that sucks more than moving?  Well, probably.  But moving sucks pretty hard IMHO.

One advantage I have is that I’ve known that I was going to move for a long time.  My current place is on the second and third floors, and getting Ian and his wheelchair up those stairs is getting harder to do the bigger he gets.  So since I’ve known the change was coming, I’ve been looking at places for a while now and finally found a place that meets the qualifications I’ve been looking for:

  • A house instead of an apartment
  • First floor bedroom
  • First floor full bathroom

Since I’ve known the move was coming, I’ve spent the last year or so going through my storage bins consolidating and purging.  I’ve gotten rid of a ton of stuff, and Good Will has made out like a bandit.

Another advantage is that I’ve overlapped this entire month in both places so that I can move at my own pace.  This is so much better than the out by the 31st in by the 1st method that gives you one day to move everything and clean up the old place.

As much as moving sucks, it is also such a healthy thing.  It’s always good to weed out the collection of crap that amasses when you live somewhere for a while.  I find it healing, too, to look inside those boxes that only seemed to get opened when moving, the ones with the old letters and pictures from days gone by.

I know this post has nothing to do with music, but you don’t mind, do you?  😉

My questions for today are:

  • What are some cool ways to pack stuff?
  • What things do you refuse to throw away but only see when you move?

One last thing:  I’ve added the “Categories” widget on the side.  I think when you first enter the blog, all categories are displayed, and then you can filter on certain categories.  It’s just an experiment.  Enjoy!

