Afterthoughts… (or Oh Canada (part trois))

So, was my first question even a fair question?  I suppose there could be some people who could comment and say, “Dude, the blog sucks, give it up,” but it’s highly unlikely that someone would do that.

However, the feedback from the other question is extremely helpful.  I received some verbal feedback from people close to me as well.  I think the idea of categories would be okay as long as it didn’t change the default format of the blog, and only provided away to filter entries toward specific topics.  I’ve fought changing the Max Creek Forum to a threaded format for years because I like the community spirit of a single thread, and I want to have that kind of spirit with this blog.

So, I’m going to experiment a little with categories, but only if I can keep the main view as it is.  Plus, I like that most of my entries cover multiple categories anyway.

I also wanted to add another gross little memory about the Toronto show.  It had been raining all day and all evening and although it was rather cool, it was unbelievably humid.  I can’t remember sweating so much at a show since the old 120 degree living room shows a few years ago.

At the end of the set, my shirt was as wet as if I’d taken a shower wearing it!  Gross!

I also wanted to shout out to my new Canadian sister, Meghan Feldman. 🙂

8 thoughts on “Afterthoughts… (or Oh Canada (part trois))

  1. I think that if each of your entries is kept separate from one another, the inspiration for each one will stay intact , and will minimize tangents.

  2. Scott, here’s something to think about- since you are very much inspired by and supportive of the whole community ‘spirit’, and since improvisational music is very much a conversation and interaction (between the musicians on stage and the band and audience etc), why not think of some ways to make the blog more interactive?

    You’re always asking us to respond to questions, and i think that keeps everyone who reads this involved and excited. Maybe there are other ways to expand on this kind of interaction that might be fun for you and us?

    I have no clue what these things could be. I’m just an idea man 😉

  3. I’m glad to see you might keep this connection going.
    I think your thoughts of the moment(or not to distant past)seems to be working,however if you’re looking for specific feedback you might want categories.

    Just keep talk’n on and on!

  4. Hey Scott,
    I think you are doing a fine job with the blog as it is. I really like the cohesiveness (?) of reading all the entries, it is more like a mental stream. That is good IMHO. It gives a more accurate read, and you do an excellent job in capturing the mood of each show/city. That said, I am always up for new things, so if you think it would be better or different to play around with the mix, go for it. I for one really appreciate you putting yourself out there, and giving us a taste of your life on the road. It was great seeing you guys in Jacksonville, I cant’ wait to do it all over again soon!
    xoxo
    K

  5. It’s good to see this conversation will continue.
    I like the way you write your thoughts as they are.
    If your looking for a specific reponse to a certain question you might want to do a catagory.

    just keep talkin’ on and on!

Leave a Reply

