It’s Wednesday, two days before our TV appearance on the Jimmy Fallon show. I am already nervous! Of course the experience wouldn’t be complete without some sort of drama. I lost a filling last week in this stump of a tooth that was already X’d on my dental chart, meaning that it was going to be extracted anyway. So this morning I got my tooth pulled. There is something intense about the pain that happens after an extraction when the novocaine wears off. It’s like a burning pain or something. Anyway, I’m sure it will be fine by tomorrow.

We’ve got four minutes to work with. It’s unbelievable how nervous I can get over something that lasts four minutes! Of course this is being broadcast all over the WORLD for four minutes. No big deal, right?

But it’s such a different situation than getting ready for tour. We’ve selected the song and worked out a 3.5 minute arrangement already. Now it’s just polish work. We’ve discussed adding some guitar shredding at the end as well as some vocal improvisations by Mike. We’re rehearsing tomorrow night to really get it tight. And I guess we’ll be running the tune repeatedly on Friday before the taping so we should have it all under our belts by the time that four minutes actually happens.

But then there’s wardrobe. What do I wear? Obviously the very best of what I have. I have a black shirt that I got from Cheryl that is the nicest in my closet but I’m also bringing a maroon shirt as well, just in case they say, no black, or something stupid.

I’ve got a pair of jeans that I’m bringing, actually a couple pairs, but I think I’m shopping for new jeans tonight. The pair I like the best has rips in the knees.

I think I need all new strings on the guitar too. Just to make everything perfect. I should also look into which of my pedalboard cables was acting up on me last weekend. The last thing I need is technical issues.

I head to New York tonight. I’ll work during the day tomorrow and then rehearse tomorrow night. I also want to watch the show tonight and tomorrow night just so I’m current. I did some research on Fallon already and now I want to research his guests that night, Adam Sandler and Aziz Ansari.

Then Friday we go to NBC at 10 am. Ok, just typing that gets me more nervous!

