It was another dreary day, pouring rain and cold and overcast. I woke up on the bus and I didn’t want to go anywhere. I didn’t go find a coffee shop to blog in, or go for lunch or anything. I decided I would do everything at the venue. It had a very nice back room with a shower and they had coffee on in there. I was all set.

More than all set really. This place was gorgeous. It was truly a theater with multiple dressing rooms, a lovely main hall with theater seats and all. For a room as large as it was, it had great sound. They had rented a sound system from Atomic in Burlington and Mark had the room sounding great.

Sound check was a whimsical thing mostly spent playing with the lights for Mike’s family, or swapping instruments and jamming. It was the last night of tour and the band was greased and ready to go. We were all both happy and sad to be here.

Tom’s cousin, Joe Cleary came during dinner as he was going to sit in with us on fiddle for a few tunes and we worked them out while we ate (and skyped). We taught him my song, Willow Tree with the idea that we would quadruple the beat during the solos and switch to a traditional bluegrass tune. This is exactly what we did and it worked great. We then jammed into Mike’s “Weekly Time” which is another favorite of mine and Joe picked up on it right away.

Again the lights were amazing and the band was at its best, nailing all the tunes with ease (except the endings maybe) and taking the jams to the deepest of places. The Suskind jam was VERY deep, kind of modeled after a GRAB version Julia played me on the bus the night before.

Surprisingly, we encored with one of my tunes, Jones and then Country Boy, the fastest picking song I’ve ever done. Jones was deep, thick and groovy and Country Boy was like 1000 mph and no brakes. Joe Cleary came up for Country Boy again and nailed it.

So ends another MGB tour. Again I had the opportunity to make music with some of the best players I know and I learned a lot and had a blast at the same time. Plus I got to visit some different parts of the county, meet new people, and see people I haven’t seen in a long time.

Back to reality!

